Self Awareness is a Good Thing

“My ideas usually come not at my desk writing but in the midst of living.”

–Anais Nin 

Welcome and thank you to all who are sharing your time by reading this!

Like every other person on the planet, I am many things.    I am the single mother of a gifted child, which means I am currently in the lead for throwing tantrums during homework time.  I am a humanitarian do-gooder, but am easily annoyed by bad manners.  I am a lover of food and books and all things funny…but mostly food.  For me, “Fifty Shades of Grey” has nothing on “Mastering the Art of French Cooking.”  And I’m perceptive and honest, frequently to the chagrin of those on the receiving end of it.   I have outbursts.  A lot of them.  I have more outbursts than any other do-gooder I know.  I am certain Mother Theresa did not have outbursts the way I do.  I also eat.  An awful lot.  I eat more than a lion in a butcher shop (Dieter’s note:  stress and neurosis are excellent weight management tools.).  I have a dreadful attention span.  It’s taken me the bulk of a perfectly good rainy Saturday to write this first blog because I keep Googling recipes and watching Mad Men clips on You Tube.  I am also completely neurotic, which generally manifests as well-crafted sarcastic remarks and obsessions with whatever has my attention.  Usually food.

What I am not is an expert at anything at all (unless you consider obsessing about cheese an area of expertise).  I am not writing this blog because I have some secret insight on anything in particular.  The web is full of smart people who know oodles more than I do about most anything.  Besides, it’s an awful lot of work and responsibility to be an expert.  Did I mention my attention span?

So, why am I writing it?  Simple.  I am writing because I love to write.  I also love the world around me…even when I don’t.  Life is full of things to observe and experience and love.  There is also much to detest and criticize and feel incredulity about, and I want to write about it all because there’s not enough room in my head to keep it all in.  I would write books, but I lack the self-discipline and attention span.  And writing in a journal is just plain boring—there’s no one on the other end calling “bullshit!”  Plus, there’s no one holding my writing hand to the fire, so something else inevitably distracts me.  Usually it’s the dishes…but occasionally it’s a boy.

This blog is a home for all the things that currently reside in my head.  So, while I can’t offer the wisdom of the ages, perhaps I can offer the perspective of the keenly observant, food-loving neurotic do-gooders among us.  Or maybe just a few recipes that really rock.  Either way, I’m glad you’re here and I hope you’ll keep reading.

© Racheal Lee Bradford

2 thoughts on “Self Awareness is a Good Thing

  1. chriscap says:

    Good Luck baby! I want your followers to know that you are even more interesting in person! xoxo

    Like

  2. Good luck with the blog! Can’t wait to read future articles!

    Like

Leave a Reply

