If We Were Having Coffee…

IMG_4151

Who wouldn’t smile at this happy face in the morning?

“I have measured out my life with coffee spoons.” T. S. Eliot

I recently came across the blog Just Gene’O and am already a fan. On Friday, he invited fellow bloggers to write what we imagine a weekend coffee get-together might look like. Well, Just Gene’O, I am most certainly not a morning person, but I am thrilled to be joining a group of talented bloggers in this virtual coffee klatch, so I have gulped down three cups of Dark Magic and have written how I imagine a coffee get-together with you might go….

I’d be wiping the sleep from my eyes and yawning as I struggle with the not-so-friendly container of cream for my coffee. When I finally manage to get it open, half of it spills onto the counter, which earns me side-eye from the gentleman behind me who apparently has above average fine motor skills.

I’d find one of those comfortable, over-sized chairs with the mushy cushions and tuck my legs underneath me as the soft background jazz made its way into my ear canals. I’d hold my cup with both hands, breathe in the aroma and smile at you as you come in the door and wave to me. After two or three sips, I’d realize my socks don’t match.

I’d take in the scene around us–smart people laughing at some sophisticated joke that is only told in coffee shops. Even smarter people reading newspapers or doing the Sunday New York Times crossword puzzle. And the truly brilliant people engaged in seemingly serious, intellectual conversations about global economics…or maybe Dating Naked.

And once my voice finally came out of its own deep slumber, I’d remark about how the world-at-large seems to have lost its collective mind this summer, but that you’d never know it in a place like this. Here, everyone is happy. I’d suggest to you that perhaps we should dome the entire planet, play some Miles Davis or Bob Marley and give out free caramel macchiatos and cake pops. No one is ever going to fight or kill anyone when they have caramel macchiatos and a cake pops in their hands.

You look at me like you want to say that’s ridiculous, but you don’t because you really know that it’s genius. You’re welcome.

You’d ask how my blog is coming along, and I’d say I’m finally finding my voice after nearly a year of vocalizing. That I’m less and less afraid of letting the world see how nuts I am. You’d smile and nod and say that I’m in good company. That all the cool kids are doing “crazy” these days.

We’d share some blog ideas and talk about what we’re currently working on, but in the middle of our conversation, I’d trail off into how my recent attempts at meditation are going and how I think you should be able to wear yoga pants to work because they’re super comfortable and I’d be far more productive if I weren’t constantly re-adjusting my clothes. I should really be in Human Resources. My work place would rock!

Again with the look. You know I’m right.

You’d mention something about ADD and tell me many adults have had great success with medication. But I wouldn’t hear you because I’d be wondering if chakra balancing was covered under my insurance plan.

We would watch the people around us and create back stories and plot lines and promise each other that it will all go in “the book.” Then we’d argue about whose name would be listed first on the cover.

Eventually my stomach would growl and I’d remind you that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and that skipping it is a sign of self-loathing and probably causes shingles. And having shingles sucks.

Quit looking at me like that. Β© Racheal Lee Bradford

8 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee…

  1. Gene'O says:

    The fine details of body language and other non-verbal communication in the early part of this post are marvelous. I’m actually there πŸ™‚ and I love “Dark Magic.”

    I’m not a morning person either. I work until 7 pm most days, and that’s fine by me, because it means I don’t have to come to work until 10. and just can’t do without the unsweeted espresso/milk concoctions I drink every morning (I refuse to call them lattes). If I wake up in the morning and realize we forgot to load the coffee maker, it makes me suspicious of how the day is going to go before I’ve ever said one word to another person.

    The voice gets stronger the more you vocalize, I think. And everyone in the blogosphere is a little nuts. You have to be to do this. Sometimes when I meet new bloggers on Twitter I greet them with the hashtag #WelcomeToTheMadTea party. Eccentricity is charming as long as it’s not mean. I think you’ll be fine πŸ™‚

    Thanks for joining the linkup and for the obvious thought and care that went into this post!

    Like

    • Thank you so much…that is very kind and makes me smile. Even more than coffee does. πŸ™‚

      It is a mad tea party, indeed, and I love that phrase. You may call me Cheshire Cat.

      This was a great deal of fun. Thank you for being such a terrific host.

      Like

      • Gene'O says:

        You’re welcome. It was my first try at something like this, and I’ve been very please with the turnout.

        I’m the mad hatter, obviously. hee hee.

        Like

  2. Mom says:

    Love this, one of my favorites! This is sooo you πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Aw, this makes me want to meet you for coffee! Wouldn’t that be fun? Of course, it would have to be at like 10am cause I’m not a morning person either. I can’t even speak until I’m halfway through my first cup. I love the mis-matched socks and “the cool kids are doing crazy these days”!

    I’m just starting to find my voice too and it’s getting a little easier. Of course I still second guess everything I write and am plagued with self doubt but I’m getting better at squashing those thoughts! Crazy is the new cool, I’m going to make that my new slogan!

    Like

  4. Chris Capestrain says:

    Love it. I’m in favor of yoga pants for work too. They feel divine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

