Gratitudes and Platitudes–Day One

Beignets at Cafe du Monde

“I like coffee because it gives me the illusion that I might be awake.”  –Lewis Black

A friend recently asked me to join a group of self-promoting narcissists keep a virtual Happiness/Gratitude Journal on Facebook as a reminder of how absurd my life is much I have to be thankful for.  Three blissful things a day for seven days. Apparently she hates me.

As I began joining the masses in faking my awesome lifestyle typing my responses, I realized that, instead of wasting even more of my bloggy brilliance on Facebook, where only 10% of my friends would see it, anyway,  I could instead torture share my gratitudes with my blog peeps.  You are welcome.

First, I am grateful for that extra 30 minutes of sleep I get every morning.  I am informed by those around me that being creative with the start time of my job does not actually qualify as “extra sleep,” but I think they have a serious issue with semantics.

Second, I am grateful for that third cup of Green Mountain Dark Magic every morning.

Third, I am grateful for friends who bring me vente, triple-shot caramel macchiatos with extra caramel at 2:00 p.m. I am told that this is not an altruistic act, but rather an attempt to circumvent a post-lunch, pre-nap tantrum in the middle of a database conversion meeting. You have to admire their gift of foresight.

I believe this satisfies my thankfulness quota for the day…on to cup number three. Life is beautiful, indeed. © Racheal Lee Bradford

2 thoughts on “Gratitudes and Platitudes–Day One

  1. Mike says:

    Coffee is a drug!

    Like

  2. Chris Capestrain says:

    I don’t hate you! Lol. Love this. See I knew you would find a unique route to the Gratitude s and Platitudes. Haha ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

