Gratitudes and Platitudes-Day Six

zombies
Photo from http://www.hot-lyts.com

“If any monster could Riverdance, it would be zombies.” –Craig Ferguson

I was talking the other day with one of the five dear people who read this blog, and she suggested that perhaps I wasn’t showing gratitude for the proper things. “Things that matter,” she said, “like family and friends and good health.” The sort of things that would put me in first place in a race for blogging mediocrity, I suppose.

It’s not that I’m not grateful for those things…of course I am. And perhaps when I’ve somehow misplaced my sense of humor or inadvertently had June Cleaver shoved up my butt, I’ll express just how very much those things mean to me. But, for me, the point of this exercise was to recognize and appreciate those random “little things” that bring so much joy in my life and inspire a genuine feeling of gratitude. And on some days, I am genuinely joyous and grateful for doughnuts.

Indeed. I am utterly grateful for a righteous little place called Peace, Love & Little Donuts. One, because doughnuts, am I right? But mostly because these groovy little bites of hippie Heaven are decked out right in front of you with toppings like maple-bacon, strawberry shortcake and apple pie. Even the frosted and sugared varieties are pretty far out. I took Little Man there yesterday for an after-school snack (mine, not his). It is unfortunate for him that I am stronger and faster when it comes to doughnut-grabbing.

I am also sincerely grateful that I haven’t encountered any zombies. Well…not yet, anyway. I was on the CDC website the other day looking up information about Ebola because of Elisabeth Hasselback’s halfwitted suggestion that we all ought to be panicking about it because “it’s here,” when I saw a page dedicated to preparing for a zombie apocalypse. What?? We went from swine flu to zombies? What amount of hand-washing prevents zombies? Mind you, when I was growing up, the thought of zombies didn’t bother me at all. I mean they were really slow-and kind of stupid-so they weren’t scary unless you somehow found yourself smack dab in the middle of about 100 of them, or were unable to walk. But according to movies like 28 Days Later and World War Z, now they’re supercharged and will hunt you down and eat your face. So I am really grateful that I haven’t seen any zombies.

Hey, maybe if we give the zombies some Peace, Love & Little Donuts…? No?

Finally, today I am profoundly grateful for people who “get the joke,” and who understand why it needs to be told. And for those who can laugh when you’re the subject of it…bless you.

So, dear readers…what are you grateful for? © Racheal Lee Bradford

15 thoughts on “Gratitudes and Platitudes-Day Six

  1. Mom says:

    Day Six, looking forward to Day Seven!

    Like

  2. Don Royster says:

    I am grateful that there are those who believe in zombies. Seems believing in zombies is so much better than believing in lots of other things that really bite. By the way, zombies are really dead cannibals if you think about it.

    Like

  3. Don Royster says:

    Well, you went and done it. You went and followed Uncle Bardie’s Stories & Such. You are now one of Uncle Bardie’s Band of Merry Followers. Just so you know, Uncle Bardie’s a hoot, and he’s got quite a few whoppers in his bag of stories. Some funny, some not so funny. But all told for your entertainment. Thank you for following his blog

    Like

  4. ashleyomelia says:

    Love it! Thanks for making me smile!

    Like

  5. I wrote a post about zombies once and decided that it wouldn’t be that bad. I decided to not run, but allow myself to become one. But I would be the lazy kind of zombie that sat around and didn’t chase others. I would watch TV and not chase others. It would be nice not be bothered by others too.
    By the way, might I make a suggestion, which you may get bitter at me after I suggest it? I notice that you don’t put a category on your posts. I figured this out way too late, but when you do put a category, your posts show up on Reader under that category and more people have a chance to read it. I put mine under humor which is a really popular one and it has done wonders for me. Just thought you would want something to be bitter about after all these Gratitudes you’ve been doing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It only makes me bitter that I didn’t realize that before!! Thanks so much Bitter Ben for reading and for the suggestion! Maybe that’s why I only have two followers (yes, that would be you and my mom…who has since disowned me over my language and obsessive need to show the world how odd I am.).

      Like

  6. Chris Capestrain says:

    I’m a follower! Love your gratitudes. So glad i nominated you. Lol. Now, you know it was a matter of time before i would attempt to take credit. I liked the reference to Hasselbeck. Nice touch. I’ll stop right there 🙂

    Like

    • Darlin’, you have inspired a who series of these! Thank you for the ideas…Mondays are now “Gratitudes and Platitudes Monday.” And your posts will likely also be the inspiration for many a post to come. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

