Gratitudes and Platitudes Monday–No News Is Good News

Jerry Springer
Image from http://www.aoltv.com.

“If people in the media cannot decide whether they are in the business of reporting news or manufacturing propaganda, it is all the more important that the public understand that difference, and choose their news sources accordingly.” –Thomas Sowell

Given what I see on my daily Facebook news feed, there seem to be many people under the impression that television “news” programs are actually providing them with news. Perhaps I’m being harsh, but I’ve seen very little on television that I would consider a dispassionate, unbiased, factual accounting of information and events.

So, today, I have to say this:

I am grateful that I have sufficient firing brain cells to be able to recognize that any “news” organization that has “anchors” who resort to yelling, interrupting, sneering, hurling insults and purposefully distorting facts and misinforming the public is NOT a legitimate news source. Folks, watch these freak shows if you want to, but please, for the love of cheese, recognize them for what they are…a dressed-up version of Jerry Springer.

We have gone from this

Edward_R_Murrow
Image from http://www.huffingtonpost.com.

to this.

Glenn Beck
Image from thehairpin.com.

*Shiver.

Whatever your personal beliefs, is it too much to ask that we require more objectivity and integrity from our “reporters,” and, just maybe, raise the level of discourse in this country? If we prefer to see people who represent our personal ideals get in a ring and box it out, then let’s do that. Give them some gloves and a baby pool filled with Jello, and sell some tickets and popcorn. Maybe we could give the proceeds to our particular cause. But please…let the real journalists handle the news.

As for me? I’ll stick to reading the papers and some online news sources and spare myself the theatrics.

And for those of you who don’t recognize the man in the first image…? *sigh. “Good night, and good luck.” © Racheal Lee Bradford

20 thoughts on “Gratitudes and Platitudes Monday–No News Is Good News

  1. Well, I think that the sole responsibility of media is to deliver unbiased news, and pass on the job of creating judgments to the viewers, who I suppose are wise enough to differentiate between the good, the bad, and the ugly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pete says:

    Thank you, Edward R. Murrow.

    Btw, no news is usually no news…

    Like

  3. Don Royster says:

    This was one of the reasons I cancelled Cable. The only real decent news reporting on tv is now the BBC and PBS. I don’t like the commentary from either Fox or MSNBC, CNBC or CNN. Just give me the story straight up with no commentary. I can decide for my own self. And ABC, CBS and NBC, those bastions of news reporting in the past, now only give us the last celebrity reports. I really don’t care what the Khardassians or Brad Pitt or Sean Penn are doing. As far as international news, the networks are getting their news from twitter and facebook. There are no boots on the ground to report what is really happening. With the exception of the New York Times, there are very few foreign correspondents. It’s become all about the bottom line. In spite of the availability of all the information outlets these days, we are becoming less and less informed.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think online independent news sources are the future. More and more people get there news from these types of sites, including me. I agree with you. I can barely tolerate even CNN these days. They milk stories to death.

    Like

  5. Lora says:

    Your photo comparisons made me giggle!

    Like

  6. betternotbroken says:

    If the real “news” is getting to us it is by accident. Then again remember the yellow journalism at the time of the Revolutionary War? Of course you were not around to remember it, but it very well be that it has always been this ridiculous.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading this. Yes, I agree that there have always been those–news people and otherwise–who would have us believe the lie. I also believe there are still those out there who are trying to tell us what’s really going on, if only a few. I guess it is my hope that we can maybe try harder to differentiate the two…. Sadly, I’m not sure that is often the case.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I tried to leave a comment earlier, but my phone was working against me. I could not agree more! I really hope we can retain the last of our quality print journalism sources; they are suffering these days. Thankfully, NPR seems alive and well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

