Gratitudes and Platitudes Monday–Attack of the Pumpkin Spice

pumpkin-spice-all-of-the-things
Image from mychannel957.com

“Most human beings have an almost infinite capacity for taking things for granted.” –Aldous Huxley

I was going to dedicate this blog entry to Little Man, as I was feeling particularly sentimental, and he fills me every day with more gratitude than I could ever have imagined feeling prior to him.

But then I went to Starbucks. And then the grocery store. And then the pizza shop.

I don’t know who, exactly, decided that, once summer is officially over, absolutely EVERYTHING has to be pumpkin-flavored, but can we please end this shit?

On that note, today I am grateful for the handful of people who understand that not everything should be pumpkin-flavored. As it is, I’ve never been a fan of pumpkin pie. So I don’t want a pumpkin spice latte, I don’t want pumpkin-flavored hummus, and I don’t even know how one would make a pumpkin pizza. But, I will warn you, that the first person who offers me pumpkin-flavored bacon will be punched in the ear (I was going to say another body part, but Little Man informs me that that would be “very, very rude.”)

I am also grateful that that Nickelback shit seems to have finally died down. Because they are just awful. © Racheal Lee Bradford

5 thoughts on “Gratitudes and Platitudes Monday–Attack of the Pumpkin Spice

  1. Don Royster says:

    I am liking you more and more. It’s a big thumbs down on Nickelback and pumpkin anything. I’ll take pecan pie over the pumpkin anyday.

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    In case you change your mind this morning, Pumpkin flavored coffee, second drawer down under coffee maker…… :-))

    Like

Leave a Reply

