Gratitudes and Platitudes Monday-Duck Face Dynasty

duck face
Image from http://www.r2integrated.com

“Honestly, if you were any slower, you’d be going backward.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

I am aware that I do an awful lot of absurd things. But, as I scroll through my Facebook newsfeed, I have to say that I am grateful that I have not caught whatever virus, ingested whatever pharmaceutical or had my brain half eaten by whatever zombie it is that causes women to stick their tongues out, make “duck face” and/or do “skinny arms” when they are having their photos taken. What the chicken livers, people??

I may, however, start doing “jazz hands.” Because jazz hands make me laugh. © Racheal Lee Bradford

14 thoughts on “Gratitudes and Platitudes Monday-Duck Face Dynasty

  1. I’m doing jazz hands right now. What may I ask is “skinny arms”?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sally says:

    Lol! Jazz hands sounds like fun and not any less crazy than duck face 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Don Royster says:

    I think you should make a video and put it on You tube. Please put HELP on your left palm and ME on your right hand. I am sure you would get more views than this fella: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuPSIbABYVU

    I know I would be watching.

    Like

  4. Mom says:

    Lol, I completely agree! Who in the world thought that was an attractive facial expression??

    Like

  5. caramc says:

    I am also bewildered by the duck face. Why?!

    I may be guilty of the skinny arm thing from time to time, but that is more of a “don’t know what to do with my hands so I will go back in time and stand like a cheerleader” issue…but now that I have your brilliant suggestion of jazz hands, I will do that instead. Let’s start a movement!

    Like

  6. Lauren Wise says:

    Hi Rachel!
    I love this post, and I completely agree with you…many of my friends do that skinny arm pose. I am guilty of that in some of my pictures because everyone else does it and I thought that I would look good, lol! But I do not do that anymore because I though that was just plain stupid. So I just smile in my pictures and I do a simply pose. I think girls take pictures of sticking their tongues out to get attention? That is the only reason I can think of. I don’t think it’s attractive or that it looks good. I think that girls need to know that a simple smile looks perfect for taking a picture.

    Like

    • Hi Lauren! Thanks so much for reading it! Yes, you are correct that it just looks goofy and inauthentic. You’ve always had far more grace and class than most, so keep doing what you’re doing, because it works! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

