Gratitudes and Platitudes Monday-What Really Matters

Mother With Her Son
Mother With Her Son, Pierre-Auguste Renoir, 1874

“Realize deeply that the present moment is all you ever have. Make the Now the primary focus of your life.” –Eckhart Tolle

I am grateful that I woke up this morning and Little Man was sleeping safely and soundly in his bed. No, I wasn’t grateful for the few extra minutes of silence before the day switched into full gear. It was because the parents of one of his classmates had the opposite experience. They woke up this morning with the most devastating knowledge that they would never again see their son sleeping safely and soundly in his bed.

A thought I can barely even complete in my own mind.

I’ve never met those parents, as their child was in another grade and didn’t have much interaction with Little Man. Yet, my heart breaks for them as if we’d been best friends our whole lives. All of the silly things I’d been fretting over that morning-as important as they had seemed at the time-became as meaningless as the losing lottery tickets still tucked away in my purse. Nothing much mattered after that besides the knowledge that I would be able to hug my own son that evening.

Their tragic news brought into High Definition focus what really matters. The last few months have included a lost job, a dear friend’s serious illness and the disappointing end to a promising relationship. And each of these things mattered very much.

But today, I got to hear Little Man laugh.

And for that, I am humbly, reverently and eternally grateful. © Racheal Lee Bradford

7 thoughts on “Gratitudes and Platitudes Monday-What Really Matters

  1. Don Royster says:

    What a touching post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mom says:

    Your words brought tears to my eyes and brought into sharp focus how very, very fortunate and blessed we are. I want to put my arms around everyone I love for one huge group hug….and never let go! My heart goes out to that family.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This week marks the two year anniversary of the same thing happening to a boy at my children’s school. It is so sobering to watch another parent lost a child, and it does put so many things in perspective. Hug, hug, hug away. Sending prayers to that family. I may not know them, but I think all parents hold a certain bond that makes us grieve when another loses their child.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree…a parent’s love is different, somehow, and I think one that only parents truly understand. Something like this hits home for any parent. Thank you for your words. Also, I owe you a giant apology…life has been fuller than expected lately, and I bit off more than I could chew.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you..thank you very much to remind me for your lovely and beautiful blog

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Chris Capestrain says:

    This was very touching and a reminder parent or not, that like is fleeting, fragile and precious. Prayers to the family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

